Sermons – Am I the Target?

 

jonathan_edwards1339431523194 Jonathan Edwards was a preacher born in East Windsor, Connecticut. He gave his sermon “Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God” on July 8th 1741. It is an appeal to sinners to recognize that they will be judged. Edwards believed the judgement of God awaiting unrepentant sinners will be terrifying. I think Edwards (like many in that era) has an extremely harsh point of view. His overpowering descriptions of Gods wrath was very strong. His way was to scare people into converting. I do not like that he would make things up in order make his point. I do repent when I feel I may have done something wrong, so to that end I would not assume that I was a target of his sermon.

George Whitefield was also a preacher. He was born in Gloucester, England. His sermon was called, “Marks of a True Conversion“. georgewhitefield Whitefield spoke of being converted. Matthew 18:3 “And said, Verily I say unto you, Except ye be converted, and become as little children, ye shall not enter into the kingdom of heaven.” He says to be converted “there must be some great, some notable, and amazing change passed upon our souls.” He makes the comparison that little children are “ignorant creatures” and those who are converted are the same. Whitefield also spoke of our sins and the importance of confessing them. “If ye confess your sins, and leave them, and lay hold on the Lord Jesus Christ, the Spirit of God shall be given you; if you will go and say, turn me, O my God!” Do I think I could be the target of this sermon? I think yes. I believe we are all sinners and should ask God for forgiveness.


Leave a Reply

