Time is Money

Which three time-allocation changes could increase my productivity the most. Why?”

This was the question asked of me by Mr. North. Probably the most important thing that comes to mind first is getting up earlier. Although this is a difficult task during the winter months when the days are shorter and the weather is dreary, the challenge is met. I find by getting up earlier my body naturally responds to the early hours of the day. When I do get up later I seem to feel more sluggish and not as productive. My dad always says, God created us to rise with the sun and to be quiescent with the darkness.

Secondly, I find keeping an hourly log/planner is very helpful for keeping me on the right track, not allowing me to waste time. I know what each task is and what time I have to do it. I even log in breaks and appointments and restructure my schedule if need be. Each passing hour that I see myself accomplishing my tasks encourages me to continue to allot each task a time slot. Mentally, it just makes me feel good. I am also thinking about using some time management apps that may eventually replace my written log that I use now, if it is good enough.

The last change for me would be turning my leisure hours into making money. That would be using Facebook and Instagram less and more of eBay and other sources that will help me get money. I recently pulled out some of my moms old curriculum books and I will be selling them for her. She said I could keep all the money for doing this. Plus it cleans out the garage where they were all stacked up. So, as you see, there are many benefits to using your time wisely. It is a win-win situation. A win for me and a win for mom.

“The hardest thing about being productive is not the work, but the split second it takes to decide to take control.” – David Allen

Leave a Reply

