Competition = Better Goods

trade-barriers1

“Would you pay 20% more to shop at a store that sells only American-made goods?”

To answer this question it would depend on what I am looking to buy, the quality of the good and who has the best price. I am going to buy what is best for me as the customer. Whoever can produce the best good for me will get my money. I am not going to limit myself from only buying in America if I can get what I want elsewhere.

I think we need to get rid of tariffs. I have read that countries with low tariffs are more prosperous than countries that have high tariffs. In the same article it stated that people who embrace free trade have higher incomes than the countries whose people do not. Tariffs also bring down the quality in products because it eliminates competition. Competition is good. When businesses compete with one another they are competing over who can make the best goods for the customers. Lazy workers like tariffs.

“We shouldn’t be putting tariffs on anything. That hurts working men and women in the U.S. What we should be doing is making our manufacturing more competitive.” – Rick Santorun

So going back to the original question I will buy what is best for myself. Having more choices available by means of free trade would be the best scenario.

 

 

Leave a Reply

